WHO ARE HUICHOLS

P1000608%20-%20copie_edited.jpg
The Wixarika from its traduction "healer" is known as HUICHOL by the outside word.

Natives of the semi-desert plateau of St. Luis Potosi that they were obliged to leave around the year 1200, the Huichol indians took refuge in the heart of the Sierra Madre in northwest Mexico.

 

Today the population of the Huichol tribe is made up of twenty thousand people and is spread over five communities and a territory of 4200 km squared, which was given to them by the Mexican government: a mountainous region with a tropical climate. The summit reaches nearly 3000 meters consisting of gorges, cliffs, water falls and high plateaus.

This inhospitable territory has always made communications extremely difficult and dangerous and largely contributed to the isolation and protection of the Huichols, allowing them to live according to their ancestrales traditions without interference from the outside world.

 

Religion guides the life of the Huicholes. It is organised around a sacred trilogy: DEER CORN PEYOLT, which means hunting (food of the sedentary man), agriculture (culture of the sedentary man), and harvest (food of the spirit, used for curative purposes or rituals). All three elements are indispensable to the survival of the Huicholes, determining their yearly cycle of life. 

 

The Huicholes, more than any other people, represent permanently what they believe, what they live, and what they ask of the divinities. These representations take the form of an offering, clothing, a painting, a song, etc.

We invite you to immerse yourself in the Wixarika Huichol culture.  To learn more to know enter into the Non-profit Wixarika Research Center with who we are committed to defend the sacred lands and natural resources of the Wixárika Huichol people.

QUI SONT LES HUICHOL ?

P1000608%20-%20copie_edited.jpg
Le Wixarika de sa traduction  "guérisseur" est connu de par le monde comme Huichol

Originaires du plateau semi-desertique de San Louis Potosi qu'ils sont contraints de quitter vers l'an 1200, les indiens Huichol trouvent refuge en plein coeur de la Sierra Madre dans le nord-ouest du Mexique. 


Aujourd'hui la population Huichol, composée de vingt mille personnes est repartie en cinq communautés, sur un territoire de 4200 km2 qui leur a été concédé par le gouvernement mexicain : une region montagneuse au climat tropical, dont les sommets culminent à près de 3000 m, faite de gorges, précipices, cours d'eau et de haut-plateaux. 

Ce territoire inhospitalier a toujours rendu les communications extremement difficiles et dangereuses, et a largement contribué à isoler et proteger les Huichol, leur permettant de vivre aujourd'hui selon leurs traditions ancestrales, presque sans pénétration du monde exterieur. 


C'est la religion qui guide la vie des Huichols. Elle s'organise autour de la trilogie sacrée "Cerf, Maïs, Peyolt" signifiant Chasse (nourriture de l'homme sedentaire), Agriculture (culture de l'homme sedentaire, Cueillette (nouriture de l'esprit, utilisee a des fins curatives ou de maniere rituelle). Ces trois éléments, indispensables à la survie de la culture des indiens Huichol determinent leur cycle de vie annuel. 


Les Huichols, plus que tout autre peuple, representent en permanence ce qu'ils croient, ce qu'ils vivent, ce qu'ils demandent aux divinités. Ces representations prennent la forme d'une offrande, d'un vetement, d'un bijou, d'un tableau, d'un chant, etc... 

Nous vous invitons à vous immerger dans la culture Wixarika Huichol pour connaitre cette belle croyance qui se cache derrière leur art, entrer sur  Wixarika Research Center " avec qui nous nous engageons à défendre les terres sacrées et les ressources naturelles du peuple Wixárika Huichol